Ocean Springs YMCA 10K




The annual Ocean Springs YMCA 10K was held on Saturday, January 23 with a good crowd of runners. The race was an out and back that ran along East Beach and into the National Seashore Park and back. We were faced with a very strong wind going out and it did not seem to help on the way back. We also had a couple of nice hills to run up. Kiplagat Soimo took the early lead and had no trouble winning with a time of 34.28. Michael Scott was second and took the Masters, and Leonard Vergunst came in third and won the Grand Masters. David Jeffrey was the Senior Masters winner. Jayna McCarron was the overall female winner, and Stephanie Jones was the Masters winner. Laurel's Robbie Headrick was the Grand Masters winner. In addition to Robbie, Ray, Bo, and Jennifer Henderson, and Phillip Wedgeworth and Kent Headrick represented the Pine Belt Pacers well. Ray, Bo, Phillip, and Kent all placed in their age groups, and Jennifer completed her first ever 10K walk. After the race everyone enjoyed plenty of fruit and drink. The Gulf Coast Massage School was there to give free massages to the runners and walkers. Much thanks to everyone who worked hard to make this a succes. Oh, I almost forgot: the Gulf Coast Running Club has a new president, Nancy Phillips. Nancy looks a lot better than the old (or should I say former) president. Ed Wheeler has done a great job for the last few years no matter what I or anyone else has said, and I am sure Nancy will do well.